Areas of Concentration

Where curricular resources suffice, students completing a major or a minor in European Studies may focus on one of the following national streams:

  • France
  • Germany
  • Great Britain
  • Greece
  • Italy
  • Portugal
  • Russia
  • Spain

(Other areas, such as Scandinavia, may be possible by means of study abroad or a Letter of Permission.)

By successfully completing 18 credits within such a stream, students qualify for a sub-specialization which will be noted accordingly on the diploma and transcript.

Thus, for example, a student might graduate in Political Science and European Studies (Focus: Greece) or Italian and European Studies (Focus: Italy), Economics and European Studies (Focus: Portugal), or History and European Studies (Focus: Spain). Courses in the focus area may include language courses pertaining to the area of focus. Students who choose not to focus on a particular stream would graduate with a degree in European Studies.